A domestic violence charge comes with long-term consequences, such as ruining your reputation and hurting your opportunities for employment, loans, housing, and/or child visitation. With this, you must prepare for the penalties coming your way. And if you believe you were falsely accused, this is all the more reason to fight against these penalties. Read on to discover what you should do after being charged with domestic violence and how a seasoned Kaufman County, Texas domestic violence lawyer at Harrell & Paulson, LLP, can help you navigate your legal options.
Under Texas law, what constitutes a domestic violence charge?
Domestic violence is considered a form of assault in the state of Texas. It is loosely defined as when someone commits an act of violence against a household member, family member, or someone they are dating or in an intimate relationship with and injures them, puts them at risk of injury, or makes them feel threatened by imminent bodily injury.
More specifically, the following actions may constitute a domestic violence charge by Texas law:
- Simple assault.
- Physical assault.
- Sexual assault.
- Psychological assault.
- Emotional assault.
- Terroristic threats.
- Controlling behavior.
What penalties should I expect if I am facing a domestic violence charge?
Firstly, it is important to note the difference between domestic assault and aggravate domestic assault. For one, domestic assault involves engaging in offensive contact that harms or threatens to harm another person. This is considered a misdemeanor that will have you facing either a Class A or a Class C charge. A Class C misdemeanor is associated with a $500 fine while a Class A misdemeanor is associated with a $4,000 fine and up to one year in jail.
On the other hand, aggravated domestic assault usually involves the use of a deadly weapon and often results in serious bodily injury. This charge is sometimes considered a second-degree felony, and with this, you will face anywhere between two to 20 years of incarceration and a maximum $10,000 fine. Other times, this is considered a first-degree felony that comes with anywhere between five to 99 years of incarceration and a maximum $10,000 fine. Regardless, an aggravated domestic assault charge will lead to you receiving a permanent criminal record.
What if I am falsely accused of domestic violence?
Unfortunately, there have been instances where people are falsely accused of committing domestic violence. If you believe this is your case, then you must step forward with your claim, as it is against the law to make such a false accusation. Above all else, it is not fair that you must go through this legal process if you are innocent.
This is why you must contact a competent Kaufman County, Texas criminal defense lawyer today. We will come to your legal defense as immediately as possible.
Contact Our Kaufman County Firm Today
For vigorous defenses for personal injury, criminal, divorce, or estate planning matters, contact Harrell & Paulson, LLP today to schedule your free case evaluation.