DWI Defense Attorneys in Kaufman, Texas

Getting a DWI is unfortunate, and for many, one mistake can lead to a life of complications. Don’t make the mistake of fighting a DWI on your own. Despite the fact that they’re relatively common crimes, the penalties can impact a person’s life for years, or even forever. Contact a Kaufman County, Texas DWI lawyer from Harrell & Paulson today to learn more about how our legal team can assist you.

DWI Lawyer Based in Kaufman County, Texas | Here to Fight for You

When someone is convicted of a DWI, they will most likely lose their driver’s license, have to pay high fines, and may even find themselves behind bars. This is why anyone facing DWI charges can’t proceed without an experienced Kaufman County, Texas criminal defense lawyer in your corner.

Consequences of a First-Offense DWI in Texas

Some people make the mistake of assuming that their first DWI charge won’t significantly affect their lives. This is untrue. In fact, for a first-offense DWI, you may even receive a jail sentence. The potential penalties for a first-offense DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • A potential $2,000 fine

  • Up to 180 days in jail

  • A potential one-year driver’s license suspension

  • Potential enrollment in DWI education or treatment programs

  • The potential installation and use of the ignition interlock device

You should note that often, the state will impose an additional $3,000, $4,500, or $6,000 fine upon sentencing for DWI charges as well.

Penalties for a Second-Offense DWI in TX

Anyone charged with a second DWI will be seen as a repeat offender, which will most likely entail even harsher penalties. The potential consequences of a second-offense DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • A potential $4,000 fine

  • Up to one year in jail

  • A potential two-year driver’s license suspension

  • Enrollment in DWI education or treatment programs

  • Potential installation and use of the ignition interlock device

Consequences of a Third-Offense DWI in Texas

A third-offense DWI is detrimental to a person’s life and reputation. For a third DWI in Texas, the potential penalties are:

  • A potential $10,000 fine

  • Anywhere between two and 10 years in prison

  • A potential two-year driver’s license suspension

  • DWI education enrollment or alcohol treatment programs

  • Installation of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle

Penalties for a DWI with a Child in the Vehicle

When someone is found to be under the influence of alcohol while transporting a child passenger under the age of 15, they will likely be charged with DWI with Child Passenger. This can warrant a fine of up to $10,000, an additional 180 days added to your driver’s license suspension, and up to two years of incarceration, among other penalties.

Ready to Challenge Your Charge?

Contact Us Now

DWIs With Commercial Driver’s Licenses in Texas

Those who operate commercial vehicles, such as 18-wheelers and school buses are held to an even higher standard than other drivers when it comes to the amount of alcohol they’re allowed to have in their system. Though a regular driver can receive a DWI with a BAC of .08% or higher, a commercial driver only needs a BAC of .04% to receive a DWI. If you get a DWI while operating a commercial vehicle in Texas, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • A potential $2,000 fine

  • Up to 180 days behind bars

  • A CDL suspension for up to one year (three years if you were transporting hazardous materials)

If you get a second DWI with a commercial license, you’ll most likely have your CDL permanently revoked and face additional penalties, such as jail time, high fines, and more.

What Happens if I Refuse a Breathalyzer in Texas?

When someone is pulled over and is suspected of driving while under the influence of alcohol, they may be tempted to refuse to submit a breath sample. Though this is understandable, the truth is, refusing a breath test comes with its own set of significant penalties as well. Penalties for refusing to take a breath test in Texas are as follows:

  • First offense: 180-day license suspension

  • Second offense: 2-year license suspension

  • Third offense: 3-year license suspension

DWI Defenses

Fortunately, there are a wide array of potential defenses available to those who’ve been charged with driving while under the influence of alcohol. Of course, the potential defense we use depends largely on the circumstances of your DWI, but some of the most common defenses against these charges are as follows:

  • You were unlawfully stopped

  • The arresting officer improperly conducted a breathalyzer test

  • The breathalyzer itself was dysfunctional

  • The arresting officer improperly conducted a field sobriety test

These are just some of the most common defenses against DWI charges, and if you’ve been charged with a DWI, the most important thing you can do is retain the services of a competent Kaufman County, Texas DUI lawyer who can assess the circumstances of your arrest and determine the strongest possible defense on your behalf. Our firm is here to help you, every step of the way.

Contact Us Today!

We believe and understand that getting a DWI doesn’t make you a bad person. Whether you made a mistake or you’ve been wrongfully charged with driving while intoxicated, you need a legal team you can depend on. We are dedicated to fighting for clients facing DWIs and other charges in Texas, and we are here to help you as well. Contact Harrell & Paulson today to schedule your free initial consultation with our experienced legal team.

Our Defense Attorney